Saypane
Language: English

Dictation and transcription apps for Windows, compared

Every app here turns speech into text on Windows. They differ in where the speech is processed, what the free version allows and how they charge. Facts about other apps come from their own websites, store listings and GitHub pages as read on 27 October 2026; Dragon facts are what users report. Where something is not stated, we say so.

AppSpeech processedDictation into other appsFile transcriptionSpeaker labelsPrice
SaypaneOn your PCYes, free and unlimitedYes, first 15 minutes per file freeIn ProFree; Pro is a one-time purchase
Wispr FlowIn the cloudYes, 2,000 words a week free on desktopMeeting notes (Notetaker)Not stated$15 a month, or $12 a month billed yearly
superwhisperOn your PC or in the cloudYes, free with local WhisperIn ProNot stated$8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, $249.99 lifetime
SpokenlyOn your PC, or in the cloud if you chooseYes, free with local modelsYesYes, according to its store listingFree with local models; Local+ $29 once; Pro $9.99 a month
HandyOn your PCYes, freeNoNoFree, open source (MIT)
MacWhisperOn the Mac; no Windows versionYes, on the MacYes, freeYesFree; Pro €64 once
WizWhispOn your PCNoYesNoTiny and Small models free; Pro $9.99 once
BuzzOn your PC (OpenAI API optional)NoYes, plus live microphone transcriptionNot listedFree, open source (MIT)
VibeOn your PCNoYes, plus microphone and PC soundYesFree, open source (MIT)
Otter.aiIn the cloudNoYes; 3 file imports in total on the free planYesFree 300 minutes a month; Pro $16.99 a month, or $8.49 billed yearly
DragonNot checkedYes; users praise its spoken punctuationNot checkedNot checkedUsers report about $600 for a version that runs on Windows 11
Windows voice typingIn the cloud, needs internetYesNoNoFree, built into Windows
OpenWhisprOn your PC, or in the cloud if you chooseYes, free with local modelsYes, audio uploadYesFree with local models; Pro $80 a year
WhisperTypingIn the cloudYes, limited free minutesNot describedNot describedFrom $5 a month, billed yearly
DictaFlowIn the cloud; offline in ProYes, 2,000 cloud words a month freeNot describedNot described$9 a month, or $84 a year
VoiceInkOn the Mac; no Windows versionYes, on Apple Silicon MacsNot describedNot described$25 once for one Mac
AikoOn Apple devices; no Windows versionNoYesNo$24 once

Prices and plans of other apps were checked on their websites on October 28, 2026. They change often, so confirm them with the vendor before you buy.

Side-by-side comparisons

How to choose

  • You want a short list first: see the best offline dictation apps for Windows and the best offline transcription software for Windows.
  • You want free file transcription and do not need dictation: Buzz and Vibe are free and open source. Vibe already has speaker labels. Try them first.
  • You want AI to rewrite and format what you say: Wispr Flow and superwhisper do that; Saypane does not.
  • You only want free local dictation: Handy is free and open source, and Spokenly is free with local models. Saypane dictation is free too, and adds file and meeting transcription in the same app.
  • Your recordings or your words must not leave the PC: pick an app that processes locally: Saypane, Handy, Spokenly or superwhisper with local models, WizWhisp, Buzz or Vibe. Cloud services such as Otter.ai and Wispr Flow upload them.
  • You are looking for MacWhisper on Windows: it does not exist. Saypane has the same mix of dictation and transcription with speaker labels; Vibe is a free option for files.
  • You want dictation and transcription in one Windows app, with no subscription: that is what Saypane is built for.
  • You rely on voice commands to control the PC: Saypane has none. Windows Voice Access, built into Windows 11, is made for that.